the difference between bothering a person and writing about a sales product; #3 a discussion topic about Forbidden Family; adoptee duped by adoption

Found on Amazon’s Customer Discussions

Joan Mary Wheeler forum

http://www.amazon.com/Joan-Mary-Wheeler/e/B00XX0BFC6/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

the difference between bothering a person and writing about a sales product

Initial post: Apr 10, 2016 7:25:19 AM PDT
Ruth Pace says:

in a facebook discussion the author says this about her ‘older sisters’:

“You can see my older sisters’ harassment and slander and libel on my Amazon page. They found me in 1974, and I soon found out that they are crazy, very dysfunctional, and will not leave me alone. All 4 of my parents are now deceased. You can read the whole story in my memoir: Forbidden Family: My Life as an Adoptee Duped by Adoption.”

The discussion here is about THE BOOK – not a person. I have said that due to my sending actual police and court documents about certain passages in the first edition of THIS BOOK, that proved that the author LIBELED me in THE BOOK, that BOOK was pulled from publication. It had NOTHING to do with the PERSON of the author, rather THE BOOK that she wrote.

The author signed a contract with Trafford publications in 2009 stating that her non-fiction book “Forbidden Family” is factual and true. When I sent actual police and court documents to Trafford, their legal department determined that the author VIOLATED THE CONDITIONS OF WHAT SHE SIGNED. It was therefore, TRAFFORD’S decision to remove the book from publication.

Subsequent numerous editions of the book “Forbidden Family” do not impress me, nor does the ‘renaming’ of the book by adding a few words to the title. The content is still the same as the 2009 edition, plus more libel. Dried egg is very difficult to remove from dishes and faces.

Soon after I posted this discussion point, the author removed the name-calling from her fb page. Doesn’t matter. This discussion is about a SALES PRODUCT not a person. I reiterate: dried egg is difficult to remove from dishes and faces, and darned near impossible from a paperback book.

Your post, in reply to an earlier post on Apr 10, 2016 10:52:28 AM PDT

gert mcqueen says:

This book contains actual real family names and pictures of both the adopted and birth families, which makes identification very easy and WRONG. The book, the first and this current ‘revision’, does indeed have many falsehoods and fabrications (things that NEVER occurred) and is slanted to paint a false picture of every member of two families. The only reason this revision is available is because it is ‘self-published’ thereby by-passing the middle-man. A book can NOT be harassed. A book CAN be discussed and that is what is being done, here in the proper format. Knowing what is IN the book is helpful to customers…that is the purpose of discussion topics.

Posted on Apr 11, 2016 5:29:13 PM PDT
Ruth Pace says:

Gert McQueen says: “This book contains actual real family names and pictures of both the adopted and birth families, which makes identification very easy …”

This is one of the problems with this book (a sales PRODUCT, NOT A PERSON) – When the book has clues for the reader to find MY true name, it left the book with libelous accusations. For example, stating that I have a criminal record, when in fact, I do not. On my blog, I have left scans of the actual police and court documents when the author and I were involved in 3 court cases of harassment. Somehow, the 3 cases got merged into ONE court battle in the book, lasting “three months.” – There ‘were’ three court appearances in 1995, (for ONE case) each one for about 15 minutes in front of the judge. The BOOK leads the reader to believe it was a continuous “three month court battle.” (quote from the book).

The court documents I submitted to Trafford Publications shows that in March 1995, the author appeared for her arraignment. (which took approximately 10 minutes). The case was adjourned to April 1995, where the judge adjourned the case (again, that took about 10-15 minutes). The case reconvened in May 1995, again, taking only 15 minutes. — Another complaint I filed in 1999 against the author gave me another document – a computer readout from Erie County (New York) Unified Court Systems showing all cases involving me and criminal background – which showed NO CRIMINAL RECORD for one Ruth Sippel (my maiden name). This document was sent to Trafford Publications which proved that I was libeled in this book – where it says I have a criminal record. I do not have a criminal record. Therefore – the book contains a LIE about me.

Your post, in reply to an earlier post on Apr 17, 2016 4:36:55 AM PDT

gert mcqueen says:

name calling…

Interesting to note that the author has two sets of standards which she demonstrates, in the pages of this book and elsewhere when she is promoting the book, one for herself and one for everyone else.

The author’s portrayal of everyone in the book makes it look like the ENTIRE world has conspired against her because they are all so evil and cruel and crazy and dysfunctional. And those words are NAME CALLING. She engages in name calling all the time, but does not allow that practice by others. Case in point; here is what she said on March 14, 2016

“This is the first time I have ever seen you behave like this. Keep it up and I will block you as well. Not allowed on my posts.
I’d appreciate no name calling on my posts.

I have survived enough of that in my lifetime, a lifetime full of hate form so-called adoptive relatives and blood as well. there is absolutely no need for adoption at any time under any circumstances.
I know full well about the divide within adoption reformist groups as I’ve seen it for 40 years. I do think we can all learn from one another. But I don’t like calling names or putting down academic writings. I’ve learned from writings by adopted people who wrote memoirs and I’ve learned from professionals with PhDs. That is why I am 100% anti-adoption.”

This author speaks with forked tongue! If the author can portray others, according to her whim, just how truthful a depiction is it in this book? And if she will NOT allow others to ‘name call’ then WHY does she engage in the practice when discussing BIRTH family inside this BOOK and elsewhere?

End

One thought on “the difference between bothering a person and writing about a sales product; #3 a discussion topic about Forbidden Family; adoptee duped by adoption

Leave a Reply

